Stages Of Grieving Loss Of A Loved One: Facing Your Loss And Living Again!

We all go through stages of grieving loss of a loved one when tragedy touches our lives and we lose a loved one in death. The emotional stress that follows can be overwhelming.

Regardless of whether the loss of your loved one was expected or sudden, getting through the stages of grief remains one of the most difficult challenges you will have to overcome in life. It’s hard to cope with the uncontrollable flood of emotions you experience as you try to come to terms with the loss you have suffered.

Admittedly, your loved one wouldn’t want you to grieve forever. The best honor you could give to the memory of your loved one is to lead the rest of your life in a happy and healthy manner.

This requires gradually moving through the stages of grieving and not holding on to your grief forever. This is much easier said than done, especially in the initial months after the loss of your loved one. So be patient with yourself. This article can help you identify where you currently are in grieving process.

The Five Stages of Grieving Loss Of A Loved One

Grief tends to follow a certain sequence of stages. You may experience all or some of the following stages of grieving.

The secret to coping with your loss and finding happiness again is to allow the stages of grief to run their course naturally.

Stage 1. Denial. When tragedy strikes or you are confronted with the news of the death of a loved one, your first reaction might be to deny that it has actually happened.

Denial may be a natural reaction to avoid the emotional pain. The denial stage can last from moments to weeks.

The danger of staying in the denial stage is that you’re never really facing or accepting what has happened.

You cannot advance to the other important stages of grieving until you have gotten past the denial stage and have accepted the loss of your loved one.

Stage 2. Guilt. Grieving women often feel guilt even when they don’t have a logical reason to feel guilty.

You may look back at a situation after it occurred and identify things you “should have done” or question whether there are things you should not have done.

All the doubts and guilty feelings are a natural part of the grieving process, but it’s also detrimental to get stuck in this phase.

Allow yourself to feel the emotional pain of your tragic loss, but make sure you strive to move beyond this stage of grief as well.

Stage 3. Anger. Once you start advancing through the various stages of grieving, it probably won’t be long before anger sets in.

This is the point where you realize that you have no control and there is nothing you can do to undo the tragic situation.

It’s okay to allow yourself to feel your anger, but you mustn’t allow yourself to be consumed or controlled by it. Allowing yourself to be overcome by anger can cause lasting damage to yourself or to someone else.

Stage 4. Depression. This is the stage where I personally lingered for a long time when I lost my best friend and soul mate.

Sometimes, I still relapse back into this stage. And it’s been five years since my loved one died

Even though it may be challenging for you to do, it’s important to talk with friends when you’re feeling depressed.

Talking about your feelings, anxieties, and challenges as you move through the stages of grieving may help you discover a lot of things about yourself.

You may uncover inner strengths and courage that you did not even know you had. During this self-reflective time you may experience personal growth in areas you may never have experienced otherwise.

Stage 5. Acceptance. This is the last stage of the grieving process.

When you progress naturally and at your own pace through the 4 previous stages of grief, this final stage is where you have truly accepted what has happened and come to terms with your loss.

You now feel hope for the future and although your circumstances and focus in life may have changed, your life is feeling back to normal otherwise.


Do You Feel Stuck?

It’s common to feel stuck in one or more of the stages of grieving. This is especially true when it comes to stage 4, which is depression.

If you feel stuck, seek professional help.

Grief counselors are often able to help you with your unique situation. They may have some simple strategies to help you move forward.

 On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of LossCheck Price Experiencing GriefCheck Price A Journey Through Grief: Gentle, Specific Help to Get You Through the Most Difficult Stages of GrievingCheck Price Life Is Goodbye Life Is Hello: Grieving Well Through All Kinds Of LossCheck Price Surviving Grief … and Learning to Live AgainCheck Price Healing After Loss: Daily Meditations For Working Through GriefCheck Price Widow To Widow: Thoughtful, Practical Ideas For Rebuilding Your LifeCheck Price I Wasn’t Ready to Say Goodbye: Surviving, Coping and Healing After the Sudden Death of a Loved OneCheck Price How To Go On Living When Someone You Love DiesCheck Price Understanding Your Grief: Ten Essential Touchstones for Finding Hope and Healing Your HeartCheck Price A Grief ObservedCheck Price

About Darlene

Darlene is passionate and enthusiastic about helping women simplify their lives, develop stress resilience, regain balance, and find happiness, despite the personal storms life throws at them. She has published a popular series of stress management books which focus on simple, practical and healthy stress relief strategies, as well as provide FREE resources and services that help women become more stress-resilient.

Speak Your Mind